Athletes Have Dominated 'Dancing With the Stars' in 26 Seasons—Who’s Next?

11 athletes have been crowned champions so far

rashad jennings new york giants dancing with the stars mobile
Rashad Jennings, former New York Giants running back / Jeff Zelevansky/Earl Gibson III/Getty Images

Boxing legend Evander Holyfield and NFL great Jerry Rice paved the way for athletes on ABC’s Dancing With the Stars during the first two seasons in 2005 and 2006. Emmitt Smith famously traded his football cleats in for dancing shoes in Season 3, eventually becoming the first athlete to win. Since Smith’s achievement, 10 more athletes have been crowned champions and earned the show’s coveted Mirrorball trophy.

The athletes have brought a special kind of energy to the long-running reality show competition, so much so that ABC turned Season 26 into an athletes-only season, with energetic Olympic figure skater Adam Rippon defeating fellow finalists Josh Norman and Tonya Harding. 

Now entering its 29th season, DWTS has revealed its newest competitors, which include three more athletes and one coach competing for the title: NBA Hall of Famer Charles Oakley (who was eliminated first), Navarro College Cheerleading Coach Monica Aldama, NFL Tight End Legend Vernon Davis, and figure skater Johnny Weir.

This season, these individuals will compete against actress Skai Jackson, Tiger King standout Carole Baskin, actress Anne Heche, actor and musician Jesse Metcalfe, television personality Kaitlyn Bristowe, Backstreet Boys singer AJ Mclean, actress Justina Machado, television host Jeannie Mai, rapper Nelly, television host and producer Nev Schulman, and actress Chrishell Stause.

Here’s a full list of athletes who have won DWTS:

  1. Emmitt Smith (Season 3, football player)
  2. Apolo Anton Ohno (Season 4, speed skater)
  3. Hélio Castroneves (Season 5, race car driver)
  4. Kristi Yamaguchi (Season 6, figure skater)
  5. Shawn Johnson (Season 8, gymnast)
  6. Hines Ward (Season 12, football player)
  7. Donald Driver (Season 14, football player)
  8. Meryl Davis (Season 18, ice dancer)
  9. Laurie Hernandez (Season 23, gymnast)
  10. Rashad Jennings (Season 24, football player)
  11. Adam Rippon (Season 26, figure skater)

Here's Rippon slaying a contemporary dance last season:

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down