Who Has The Most Super Bowl MVPs?

GettyImages 670099356 e1699627622836
(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)

The Super Bowl MVP award was first handed out after Super Bowl II in 1968, and since then, it has become one of the most prestigious individual honors in American football. The MVP is chosen by a panel of media members and former players who vote on the player they believe had the most significant influence on the outcome of the game. Today, we take a look at the players who have won the most Super Bowl MVPs ever.

RELATED: Which NFL Team Has the Most Super Bowl Wins?

As the Super Bowl has grown into a major cultural event, the MVP award has become a symbol of individual excellence and a testament to a player's ability to shine on the grandest stage in American sports. The Super Bowl MVP remains a coveted accolade that adds a special chapter to the legacy of the players who earn this distinguished honor.

6. Bart Starr: 2 Super Bowl MVPs

GettyImages 77035144
(Photo by James Flores/Getty Images)
  • Years Active: 1956- 1971
  • Team: Green Bay Packers
  • Super Bowls Won: I, II

Bart Starr, the legendary quarterback for the Green Bay Packers, earned the Super Bowl MVP award for his outstanding performance in Super Bowl I and II. Starr was named the MVP in the inaugural Super Bowl, held on January 15, 1967, at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. The Green Bay Packers faced the Kansas City Chiefs in this historic matchup, and Starr's stellar performance included completing 16 of 23 passes for 250 yards and two touchdowns. The Packers won the game 35-10.

Starr led the Packers to a decisive 33-14 victory over the Raiders, securing their second consecutive Super Bowl championship. In that game, Starr completed 13 of 24 passes for 202 yards and one touchdown. His precise passing and effective leadership on the field were instrumental in the Packers' success.

5. Terry Bradshaw: 2 Super Bowl MVPs

GettyImages 515117754
(Via Getty Images)
  • Years Active: 1970- 1983
  • Team: Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Super Bowls Won: IX, X, XIII, XIV

Terry Bradshaw, the former quarterback for the Pittsburgh Steelers, earned Super Bowl MVP honors twice during his illustrious career that saw him win four Super Bowls.

On January 21, 1979, in Super Bowl XIII, the Pittsburgh Steelers faced the Dallas Cowboys. Bradshaw delivered a standout performance, completing 17 of 30 passes for 318 yards and four touchdowns. The Steelers won the game 35-31, and Bradshaw was named the Super Bowl XIII MVP for his critical role in leading his team to victory.

On January 20, 1980, in Super Bowl XIV, the Steelers once again found themselves in a championship matchup, this time against the Los Angeles Rams. Bradshaw had another impressive showing, completing 14 of 21 passes for 309 yards and two touchdowns. The Steelers emerged victorious with a 31-19 win, and Bradshaw secured his second Super Bowl MVP award.

4. Eli Manning: 2 Super Bowl MVPs

GettyImages 143425518
(Photo by Rob Tringali/SportsChrome/Getty Images)
  • Years Active: 2004- 2019
  • Team: New York Giants
  • Super Bowls Won: XLII, XLVI

Eli Manning, the former quarterback for the New York Giants, earned the Super Bowl MVP award twice in his career. On February 3, 2008, in Super Bowl XLII, the New York Giants faced the heavily favored New England Patriots. Eli Manning played a crucial role in one of the most memorable upsets in NFL history. In the closing moments of the game, Manning orchestrated a game-winning drive, culminating in a dramatic touchdown pass to Plaxico Burress with just 35 seconds remaining

On February 5, 2012, in Super Bowl XLVI, the New York Giants once again faced the New England Patriots. Manning delivered another outstanding performance, completing 30 of 40 passes for 296 yards and one touchdown. The Giants won the game 21-17, and Manning's poised and effective quarterbacking earned him his second Super Bowl MVP award.

3. Patrick Mahomes: 2 Super Bowl MVPs

GettyImages 1466487011
(Photo by Jay Biggerstaff/Getty Images)
  • Years Active: 2017- present
  • Team: Kansas City Chiefs
  • Super Bowls Won: LIV, LVII

Patrick Mahomes won the Super Bowl MVP award twice for his performance in Super Bowl LIV and LVII.

In Super Bowl LIV, Mahomes threw for 286 yards, two touchdowns, and orchestrated a late-game surge that resulted in the Chiefs scoring 21 unanswered points in the fourth quarter. His impressive play, especially in critical moments, earned him the Super Bowl LIV MVP honor. Mahomes became the youngest quarterback to win both the Super Bowl and the Super Bowl MVP award at the age of 24.

He would follow up that performance in 2023 during Super Bowl LVII in a memorable performance against the Philadelphia Eagles. Mahomes would lead the Chiefs on the last drive of the game, gaining 66 yards in 12 plays and setting up Harrison Butker for the winning field goal.

2. Joe Montana: 3 Super Bowl MVPs

GettyImages 1255423351
(Photo by Rich Pilling/Diamond Images via Getty Images)
  • Years Active: 1979- 1994
  • Team: San Francisco 49ers
  • Super Bowls Won: XVI, XIX, XXIII, XXIV

Joe Montana, the Hall of Fame quarterback, won the Super Bowl MVP award three times during his illustrious career. Joe Montana's Super Bowl success and his ability to perform at an elite level in championship games contributed significantly to his status as one of the greatest quarterbacks in NFL history.

Montana was named the MVP of Super Bowl XVI, played on January 24, 1982, where the San Francisco 49ers defeated the Cincinnati Bengals with a score of 26-21. Montana threw for 157 yards and one touchdown in the game. He earned his second Super Bowl MVP in Super Bowl XIX on January 20, 1985. The 49ers faced the Miami Dolphins, and Montana's stellar performance included 331 passing yards and three touchdown passes. The 49ers won the game 38-16.

Montana secured his third Super Bowl MVP in Super Bowl XXIII, played on January 22, 1989. The 49ers faced the Cincinnati Bengals again, and Montana orchestrated a game-winning drive, culminating in a touchdown pass to John Taylor with just 34 seconds remaining. Montana threw for 357 yards and two touchdowns in the game, leading the 49ers to a 20-16 victory.

1. Tom Brady: 5 Super Bowl MVPs

GettyImages 1470960015
(Photo by Simon Bruty/Anychance/Getty Images)
  • Years Active: 2000- 2022
  • Teams: New England Patriots, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tom Brady, widely regarded as the greatest quarterback in NFL history, has won the Super Bowl MVP award five times in his illustrious career. Brady won his first Super Bowl MVP in this game, which took place on February 3, 2002. The New England Patriots defeated the St. Louis Rams 20-17. He earned his second Super Bowl MVP in this game, held on February 1, 2004. The Patriots faced the Carolina Panthers and won 32-29.

During Super Bowl XLIX, on February 1, 2015, the Patriots faced the Seattle Seahawks, and Brady secured his third Super Bowl MVP as the Patriots won 28-24. Brady won his fourth Super Bowl MVP on February 5, 2017. The Patriots had an epic comeback against the Atlanta Falcons, winning 34-28 in overtime. Brady secured his fifth and final Super Bowl MVP in Super Bowl LV, when the Tampa Bay Buccaneers dominated the Kansas City chiefs, 31-9.

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down