A Definitive List of Every WNBA MVP

As the season starts, we look back

mobile wnba2
Getty Images

Folks we are just a more month away from the start of the WNBA season. With the 27th season on the horizon, we are taking a look back at every single WNBA MVP in the league's 25-year run.

RELATED: WNBA History: How The League Has Grown

What Defines The WNBA MVP Criteria?

The WNBA MVP is decided by a panel of sports broadcasters and writers, and is an award given to the athlete deemed as the most ‘valuable’ or ‘high-performing.’ As of 2008, fans also get a say in the matter with their selections counting for 25 percent of the total votes. To date, the WNBA has had 24 players receive that prestigious honor, and today we are going to reflect on those individuals, and the seasons that garnered them those awards. So without further ado, let’s get right into it.

1. Cynthia Cooper - Houston Comets

2. Cynthia Cooper - Houston Comets

3. Yolanda Griffith - Sacramento Monarchs

4. Sheryl Swoopes - Houston Comets

5. Lisa Leslie - Los Angeles Sparks

6. Sheryl Swoopes - Houston Comets

7. Lauren Jackson - Seattle Storm

8. Lisa Leslie - Los Angeles Sparks

9. Sheryl Swoopes - Houston Comets

10. Lisa Leslie - Los Angeles Sparks

11. Lauren Jackson - Seattle Storm

12. Candace Parker - Los Angeles Sparks

13. Diana Taurasi - Phoenix Mercury

14. Lauren Jackson - Seattle Storm

15. Tamika Catchings - Indiana Fever

16. Tina Charles - Connecticut Sun

17. Candace Parker - Los Angeles Sparks

18. Maya Moore - Minnesota Lynx

19. Elena Delle Donne - Chicago Sky

20. Nneka Ogwumike - Los Angeles Sparks

21. Sylvia Fowles - Minnesota Lynx

22. Breanna Stewart - Seattle Storm

23. Elena Delle Donne - Washington Mystics

24. A’ja Wilson - Las Vegas Aces

25. Jonquel Jones - Connecticut Suns

26. A'ja Wilson - Las Vegas Aces

So who is next? Well, we’ll have to wait and see. In the meantime grab your league passes and get ready to enjoy the season!

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down