Who Are The Current UFC Champions?

Here are the 11 current UFC champions across every weight class

UFC champions hero
Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

Now's a great time to take stock of the current champions in the UFC world. For new fans and those who may be unaware, here is a current list of UFC champions according to the official UFC rankings.


The standings are as follows:


  • Heavyweight Champion: Stipe Miocic (19-3)
  • Light-heavyweight Champion: Jon Jones (26-1-1)
  • Middleweight Champion: Israel Adesanya (19-0)
  • Welterweight Champion: Kamaru Usman (16-1)
  • Lightweight Champion: Khabib Nurmagomedov (28-0)
  • Featherweight Champion: Alexander Volkanovski (21-1)
  • Bantamweight Champion: Henry Cejudo (15-2)
  • Flyweight Champion: *Vacant (*Henry Cejudo)
  • Women’s Featherweight/Bantamweight Champion: Amanda Nunes (19-4)
  • Women’s Flyweight Champion Valentina Shevchenko (19-3)
  • Women’s Strawweight Champion: Weili Zhang (21-1)

Heavyweight Champion: Stipe Miocic (19-3)

GettyImages 1162239650
Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

Miocic has beaten most of the biggest names in MMA to become the two time champion of the promotion. He currently holds the record for the most title defenses in his division having defended it three times since beating Fabricio Werdum. Miocic lost the title to Daniel Cormier at UFC 226 in 2018 and was able to avenge the loss and get the title back at UFC 241 last year. In his free time, Miocic is also a part-time firefighter/paramedic.

Light-heavyweight Champion: Jon Jones (26-1-1)

GettyImages 1075816774
Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

When Jones won the light-heavyweight title in 2011, he was only 23 years old making him the youngest champion the UFC ever had. Since Jones has been able to defend the title against all challengers. Unfortunately, outside of the cage, Jones’s toughest opponent seems to have been himself with multiple run-ins with the law, usually involving his driving and doping violations.

Middleweight Champion: Israel Adesanya (19-0)

GettyImages 1136954889
Josh Hedges/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

The “style bender” is undefeated in MMA and in his short time in the sport, he was able to become the middleweight champion. His striking seems almost immediately adaptable to almost any opponent he has faced including the likes of Anderson Silva. He made his promotional debut with the UFC in 2018 and by 2019 he was the interim champ, and finally the undisputed champ when he beat Robert Whittaker at UFC 243 last fall.

Welterweight Champion: Kamaru Usman (16-1)

GettyImages 480417010
Brandon Magnus/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

“The Nigerian Nightmare” has lived up to his name in the UFC’s welterweight division proving to be a difficult puzzle for many fighters competing at 170 pounds. The 32-year-old has either knocked out his opponents or ground out a victory and won by decision. His only loss was early in his MMA career in 2013 in his second pro-fight. Since he has proven to be one of the most well-rounded welterweights since the days of Georges St-Pierre.

Lightweight Champion: Khabib Nurmagomedov (28-0)

GettyImages 1036791598
Steven Ryan/Getty Images

“The Eagle” of Dagestan has been dominant since his entry into MMA back in 2008. To call Nurmagomedov intimidating would be an understatement as the current lightweight champion has a video floating around from his childhood where he’s wrestling a bear as part of his early training. Knock out, submission, or decision for Nurmagomedov,  his victories are all dominant and seemingly more violent than other fighters.

Featherweight Champion: Alexander Volkanovski (21-1)

GettyImages 1194022655
Chris Unger/Zuffa LLC

The rugby player turned mixed martial artist recently picked up UFC gold with a recent victory over Max Holloway at UFC 245. The two fought to a decision last year that had the judges award Volkanovski the win and the title but he feels he and Holloway need to go again to solidify his position as the new featherweight champion.

Bantamweight Champion: Henry Cejudo (15-2)

GettyImages 1148664721
Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

Cejudo won the gold medal at the 2008 Olympic Games for freestyle wrestling and has adjusted his style to bring him success in the UFC. Originally a flyweight where he won the UFC flyweight title in a split decision, he moved up in weight to win the 135-pound title as well when he beat Marlon Moraes at UFC 238.

Flyweight Champion: *Vacant (*Henry Cejudo)

Cejudo’s decision to focus on the bantamweight title left the flyweight title up for grabs. In February, Joseph Benavidez and Deiveson Figueiredo fought for the chance to be the division’s new champion and were booked as the main event.  Figueiredo won the match but unfortunately, he did not make weight for the title fight making him ineligible to become champion. Cejudo still boasts being a double champ on social media because of this.

Women’s Featherweight/Bantamweight Champion: Amanda Nunes (19-4)

GettyImages 1154277334
Jeff Bottari/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC

The lioness seems to be content at being the dominant champion of both the  145-pound and 135-pound divisions (featherweight and bantamweight). She won the bantamweight title in 2016 with a win over Miesha Tate and has successfully defended that title five times, and won the featherweight title in 2018 when she knocked out Cris Cyborg in the first round.

Women’s Flyweight Champion Valentina Shevchenko (19-3)

GettyImages 1204974486
Cooper Neill/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

Shevchenko has been fighting professionally since 2003 and coming from the world of kickboxing has made her a force to be reckoned with. She won the vacant flyweight title in 2018 at UFC 231 and has successfully defended it three times with the most recent defense last February at UFC 247.

Women’s Strawweight Champion: Weili Zhang (21-1)

GettyImages 1171314637
Brandon Magnus/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC

Zhang made her MMA debut back in 2013, she lost that fight by decision. Since then, she has fought and won her way to win the UFC title back in 2019 and made her first title defense last March at UFC 248 in what many fans are already calling a fight of the year contender. She went against former Strawweight champion, Joanna Jędrzejczyk where they fought to a split decision with Zhang retaining the title.

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down