A Listening Guide to Metallica's Albums in Order for Super Heavy Metal Fans

metallica style mobile
Getty Images

Metallica isn't just a band—they are a way of life. With a spellbinding catalog consisting of songs like "Moth Into Flame," “Welcome Home (Sanitarium)," "Disposable Heroes," "Creeping Death," and "Fade To Black" to name a few, it's never too late to introduce or re-introduce yourself to an artist's catalog. In our opinion, the best way to do it is by listening to each album (the full album) in the artist's discography—preferably in chronological order so you can see and hear the evolution, growth, and changes over the course of time (at least we think that's pretty interesting). So without further ado, here's a look at all of the Metallica albums in order for all you super or soon-to-be super rock fans.

Let the ear ringing commence!

RELATED: All of Bon Jovi's Albums, Ranked

How Many Metallica Albums are There?

Metallica's discography consists of 11 studio albums, eight live albums, and one soundtrack album. Today we'll be looking specifically at their eleven studio albums as the live albums are a discussion for a different day.

The Metallica Albums, in Order:

  • Kill ‘Em All — July 25, 1983
  • Ride the Lightning — July 27, 1984
  • Master of Puppets — March 3rd, 1986
  • ...And Justice for All — September 7th, 1988
  • Metallica — August 12th, 1991
  • Load — June 4th, 1996
  • Reload — November 18th, 1997
  • St. Anger — June 5th, 2003
  • Death Magnetic — September 12th, 2008
  • Self-Destruct — November 18th, 2016
  • 72 Seasons — April 14th, 2023

1. Kill 'Em All (1983)

2. Ride the Lightning (1984)

3. Master of Puppets (1986)

4. ... And Justice for All (1988)

5. Metallica (1991)

6. Load (1996)

7. Reload (1997)

8. St. Anger (2003)

9. Death Magnetic (2008)

10. Hardwired... to Self-Destruct (2016)

11. 72 Seasons (2023)

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down