A Breakdown Of Every Champions League Winner, By Year

GettyImages 963598742 e1704383918976
(Photo by VI Images via Getty Images)

The UEFA Champions League is one of the most prestigious and widely followed soccer competitions in the world. It brings together the top club teams from across Europe to compete for the title of European champions. The tournament was inaugurated in the 1955-1956 season and has since evolved into a highly anticipated annual event. For a breakdown of how the Champions League works, check out this article, but in this article we'll be going over a full Champions League winners list, broken down by year.

RELATED: Who Has the Most UEFA Champions League Titles?

Throughout its history, various clubs have risen to the occasion and secured the coveted title of Champions League winners. The competition has witnessed the triumphs of some of the most illustrious football clubs, showcasing exceptional skill, teamwork, and determination on the grandest stage. Check out who the favorites were to win this years Champions League title!

Here is every Champions League Winner in the history of the competition.

2023: Manchester City

GettyImages 1498642643
(Photo by Joe Prior/Visionhaus via Getty Images)

Manchester City won their first Champions League title last season on the back of an incredible treble. After clinching the Premier League and FA Cup, Manchester City headed to Turkey to face off against Inter Milan. Spanish midfielder Rodri would send in the only goal of the game, securing Manchester City their first every Champions League title.

2022: Real Madrid

GettyImages 1400404053
(Photo by Helios de la Rubia/Real Madrid via Getty Images)

It looked like Real Madrids run to another Champions League trophy was dead in 2022 as they trailed Manchester City 3 to 5 in the 86th minute of the second leg of the semi-finals. However, Madrid used that last few minutes to pull off maybe the greatest comeback in Champions League history, going on to beat Liverpool in the finals 1-0 to claim their 14th European Championship.

2021: Chelsea

GettyImages 1233174963
(Photo by Alexander Hassenstein - UEFA/Anadolu Agency via Getty Images)

The final was contested between Manchester City and Chelsea, both of whom are English Premier League clubs. Chelsea emerged victorious in the match, winning 1-0. The only goal of the game was scored by Kai Havertz in the 42nd minute. Chelsea's manager, Thomas Tuchel, guided the team to victory in his first season in charge, securing Chelsea's second UEFA Champions League title. Their first title came in the 2011-2012 season.

2020: Bayern Munich

GettyImages 1273381573
(Photo by M. Donato/FC Bayern via Getty Images)

The final took place on August 23, 2020, and it featured a match between Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) and Bayern Munich, who emerged victorious, by a final score of 1-0. The only goal of the game was scored by Kingsley Coman in the 59th minute. With this victory, Bayern Munich secured their sixth UEFA Champions League title, and it was their first since the 2012-2013 season.

2019: Liverpool

GettyImages 1153850546
(Photo by Paul Cooper/Getty Images)

Liverpool emerged victorious in the final, winning 2-0. The goals for Liverpool were scored by Mohamed Salah, who converted a penalty in the second minute, and Divock Origi, who added another goal in the 87th minute. The victory marked Liverpool's sixth UEFA Champions League title, and it was their first since the 2004-2005 season. The manager of Liverpool at that time was Jürgen Klopp.

2018: Real Madrid

GettyImages 962814414
(Photo by Vladimir Shtanko/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images)

The final took place at the NSC Olimpiyskiy Stadium in Kyiv, Ukraine, on May 26, 2018. Real Madrid won the match 3-1. Karim Benzema opened the scoring for Real Madrid, while Sadio Mané equalized for Liverpool. However, Gareth Bale scored twice for Real Madrid, securing their victory. The goals by Benzema and Bale were particularly memorable, and the win marked Real Madrid's third consecutive Champions League title under the management of Zinedine Zidane.

2017: Real Madrid

GettyImages 802718842
(Photo by VI Images via Getty Images)

Real Madrid emerged victorious, winning the final 4-1. Cristiano Ronaldo opened the scoring for Real Madrid in the 20th minute, but Mario Mandzukic equalized for Juventus in the 27th minute with a spectacular overhead kick. In the second half, Real Madrid regained the lead with goals from Casemiro in the 61st minute, Cristiano Ronaldo in the 64th minute, and Marco Asensio in the 90th minute. The victory marked Real Madrid's 12th UEFA Champions League title.

2016: Real Madrid

GettyImages 1039458452
(Photo by Christian Charisius/picture alliance via Getty Images)

The 2015-2016 UEFA Champions League final was contested between Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid. The final took place at the San Siro Stadium in Milan, Italy, on May 28, 2016. After a goalless draw in regular time, the match went into extra time. Real Madrid emerged victorious, winning 5-3 in the penalty shootout. Cristiano Ronaldo scored the winning penalty for Real Madrid.

Every Champions League Winner

  • 2023: Manchester City
  • 2022: Real Madrid
  • 2021: Chelsea
  • 2020: Bayern Munich
  • 2019: Liverpool
  • 2018: Real Madrid
  • 2017: Real Madrid
  • 2016: Real Madrid
  • 2015: Barcelona
  • 2014: Real Madrid
  • 2013: Bayern Munich
  • 2012: Chelsea
  • 2011: Barcelona
  • 2010: Inter Milan
  • 2009: Barcelona
  • 2008: Manchester United
  • 2007: Milan
  • 2006: Barcelona
  • 2005: Liverpool
  • 2004: Porto
  • 2003: Milan
  • 2002: Real Madrid
  • 2001: Bayern Munich
  • 2000: Real Madrid
  • 1999: Manchester United
  • 1998: Real Madrid
  • 1997: Borussia Dortmund
  • 1996: Juventus
  • 1995: Ajax
  • 1994: Milan
  • 1993: Marseille
  • 1992: Barcelona
  • 1991: Red Star Belgrade
  • 1990: Milan
  • 1989: Milan
  • 1988: PSV Eindhoven
  • 1987: Porto
  • 1986: Steaua Bucuresti
  • 1985: Juventus
  • 1984: Liverpool
  • 1983: Hamburger SV
  • 1982: Aston Villa
  • 1981: Liverpool
  • 1980: Nottingham Forest
  • 1979: Nottingham Forest
  • 1978: Liverpool
  • 1977: Liverpool
  • 1976: Bayern Munich
  • 1975: Bayern Munich
  • 1974: Bayern Munich
  • 1973: Ajax
  • 1972: Ajax
  • 1971: Ajax
  • 1970: Feyenoord
  • 1969: Milan
  • 1968: Manchester United
  • 1967: Celtic
  • 1966: Real Madrid
  • 1965: Inter Milan
  • 1964: Inter Milan
  • 1963: Milan
  • 1962: Benfica
  • 1961: Benfica
  • 1960: Real Madrid
  • 1959: Real Madrid
  • 1958: Real Madrid
  • 1957: Real Madrid
  • 1956: Real Madrid
Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down