The Five Nations With The Most FIFA Women's World Cups

GettyImages 1194839348 e1693573982480
(Photo by Mikoaj Barbanell/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)

So you're wondering who has won the most FIFA Women's World Cups? Let's get in to it!.

The inaugural Women's World Cup was held in 1991 in China, and since then, the tournament has grown significantly in popularity and stature. Over the years, it has evolved to include more teams, increase competitiveness, and draw larger audiences, reflecting the rapid growth of women's football on a global scale. Like its male counterpart, the FIFA Women's World Cup features a format consisting of qualification rounds, group stages, knockout rounds, and a final match to determine the champion.

Related: Ali Riley Excited to Captain New Zealand at World Cup

As the FIFA Women's World Cup continues to grow in stature and popularity, it serves as a testament to the progress of women's soccer worldwide and the ongoing commitment to advancing the women's game on the global stage. Each edition of the tournament brings forth new stories of triumph, resilience, and unity, making it a source of inspiration for fans and players alike.

Here are the five nations with the most Women's World Cup trophies.

1. United States of America: 4 World Cups

2. Germany: 2

3. Spain: 1

4. Japan: 1

5. Norway: 1

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down