All of The Spanish La Liga Football Teams This Season

GettyImages 480318583 e1703082378202
(Photo credit should read GERARD JULIEN/AFP via Getty Images)

Are you wondering who all of the Spanish La Liga football teams are this season? Let's talk about it!

La Liga, officially known as the Primera División, is the top professional football division of the Spanish football league system. It is one of the most prestigious and widely followed football leagues in the world. La Liga has a rich history, dating back to its establishment in 1929, making it one of the oldest football leagues globally. For a breakdown of Premiership team owners, check out this article.

Relate: All of the Current Americans in the Premier League

Over the years, La Liga has been home to numerous football legends who have battled yearly to be crowned champions, including Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Xavi Hernandez, and Andrés Iniesta, just to name a few. The league is known for its technical and skillful style of play, with an emphasis on possession-based football. Check out our article on the top 10 La Liga goal scorers!

Here is a breakdown of every team in La Liga and a background of its history.

Every Spanish La Liga Team

  • Almeria
  • Athletic Club
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Barcelona
  • Cadiz
  • Celta Vigo
  • Deportivo Alaves
  • Getafe
  • Girona
  • Granada
  • Las Palmas
  • Mallorca
  • Osasuna
  • Rayo Vallecano
  • Real Betis
  • Real Madrid
  • Real Sociedad
  • Sevilla
  • Valencia
  • Villarreal

History of La Liga

GettyImages 2985607
(Photo credit should read JAVIER SORIANO/AFP via Getty Images)

La Liga was officially founded in 1929, making it one of the oldest football leagues in the world. The inaugural season featured ten teams, including Barcelona, Real Madrid, Athletic Bilbao, and Real Sociedad. Racing de Santander won the first title.

The 1950s and 1960s saw the emergence of Real Madrid as a dominant force. Led by legendary players such as Alfredo Di Stéfano and Ferenc Puskás, Real Madrid won numerous titles and became the first club to achieve sustained success in European competitions.

The 21st century brought significant financial growth to La Liga, attracting top players and coaches from around the world. Television rights deals, sponsorship agreements, and global merchandise sales contributed to the league's financial prosperity.

Who Is The Most Recent Spanish La Liga Title Winners?

GettyImages 1256563885
(Photo by Adria Puig/Anadolu Agency via Getty Images)
  • Barcelona
  • Record: 28-4-6
  • Total Points: 88
  • Goal Differential: 70-20, +50

The Defending Spanish La Liga champions are FC Barcelona. This was the clubs first year with legendary Polish striker Robert Lewandowski, who netted 23 goals across the season. The league race for the title was not close this season, with Barcelona bettering second place by 10 total points. This was a huge victory for the club who had recently underwent a rebuild, shipping off Lionel Messi, Neymar, and others.

Who Has The Most Spanish La Liga Titles?

GettyImages 1469538980
(Photo By Oscar J. Barroso/Europa Press via Getty Images)
  • Real Madrid: 35
  • Barcelona: 27
  • Atletico Madrid: 11
  • Athletic Bilbao: 8
  • Valencia: 6
  • Real Sociedad: 2
  • Deportivo La Coruna: 1
  • Sevilla: 1
  • Real Betis: 1

In the history of La Liga, there have truly been only two titans to distance themselves as the leagues best. Real Madrid are the winningest team in the leagues history, winning 35 league titles. Their dominance extends across different decades. The club enjoyed considerable success in the 1950s, 1960s, and has continued to be a force in Spanish football into the 21st century. Steady leadership, both on and off the field, has played a crucial role in its dominance. Effective management, coaching, and strategic decision-making have been key elements in maintaining a successful footballing project.

Barcelona shares the majority of the other league titles in La Ligas history, claiming 27 themselves. The tenure of Pep Guardiola as Barcelona's head coach (2008-2012) marked a period of unprecedented success. Under his leadership, Barcelona played a style of football known as "tiki-taka," emphasizing possession and quick passing.

During this time, Barcelona won numerous La Liga titles, UEFA Champions League trophies, and other domestic and international honors. Alongside Messi, midfielders Xavi Hernandez and Andrés Iniesta played key roles in Barcelona's success. Their vision, passing ability, and control of the midfield were instrumental in the team's dominance.

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down