Ballon d'Or Winners With the Most Awards

ballon dor lionel messi mobile
Kristy Sparow / Contributor

Ballon d'Or winners receive a different level of respect from those in the football world, and this year's award will soon be announced.

For players like Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, Ballon d'Or titles have helped solidify their careers as two of the greatest players that have ever graced the pitch.

[ MORE: Meet USMNT Midfielder Malik Tillman ]

25 players have been lucky enough to be named Ballon d'Or winners throughout the years, including Eusebio, Ronaldinho, and Zinedine Zidane. Today, we'll look at the players that boast the most Ballon d'Or wins and how the process works.

What is the Ballon d'Or?

Since 1956, the Ballon d'Or has been given out to the top men's player in football.

Stanley Matthews won the first-ever Ballon d'Or during his days with Blackpool, and since then, many other legends have taken home the honor.

GettyImages 56415976 e1664546385520
Denis Doyle/Getty Images

After merging with FIFA's World Player award, the Ballon d'Or became the biggest individual status symbol a player could win. The award is now open to players competing on all continents. However, no player outside of European football has ever earned the accolade.

When is this year's Ballon d'Or?

The 2023 Ballon d'Or winner will be named on October 16th. The shortlist for the candidates eligible to win has not been announced, but a few frontrunners have emerged, including Lionel Messi (PSG), Erling Haaland (Man City), Kylian Mbappe (PSG), and Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid).

Who has won the most Ballon d'Ors?

1. Lionel Messi

GettyImages 1236893481 e1664544655846
FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images

7 (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021)

Messi has finished on the Ballon d'Or podium 13 times during his storied career. That includes seven victories, most notably during his incredible run of play from 2009 through 2019.

The Argentine has won almost every trophy imaginable, and this year, he'll look to win his first World Cup with his native country.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo

GettyImages 891903878 e1664548315264
Power Sport Images/Getty Images

5 (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

Cristiano Ronaldo's five Ballon d'Ors puts him second all-time behind Messi.

Ronaldo was dominant in La Liga and the UEFA Champions League during his time at Real Madrid. He even helped Portugal win Euro 2016 after winning the Champions League and the Club World Cup with Madrid.

T-3. Michel Platini

GettyImages 461445132 e1664548662831

3 (1983, 1984, 1985)

Platini is responsible for one of the greatest Euro performances of all time in the 1980s. The Frenchman scored nine goals at the 1984 Euros, which still stands as the record for one competition.

T-3. Johan Cryuff

GettyImages 517210132 e1664548746915
FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images

3 (1971, 1973, 1974)

Cruyff was regarded as one of the great creators in Dutch football history. He has the 'Cruyff Turn' aptly named after him, which was his patented move throughout his career.

The Dutchman starred at Ajax and Barcelona before eventually landing in the United States.

T-3. Marco van Basten

GettyImages 1186194404 e1664548828156
OLAF KRAAK/ANP/AFP via Getty Images

3 (1988, 1989, 1992)

Van Basten is an Ajax and AC Milan legend after scoring over 200 combined goals for the clubs. The Dutchman comes in a long line of accomplished goal scorers from the Netherlands.

Players like Robin Van Persie, Patrick Kluivert and Ruud van Nistelrooy all hailed form Van Basten's nation.

T-6. Franz Beckenbauer

GettyImages 71331410 e1664822082841
VOISHMEL/AFP via Getty Images

2 (1972, 1976)

Beckenbauer is widely considered a top defender in football history and that's why he won the Ballon d'Or on multiple occasions. It's rare for a center back to take home this type of honor. However, Beckenbauer graced the pitch with Bayern for over a decade.

He also was capped for West Germany over 100 times and won the World Cup as both a player and manager.

T-6. Ronaldo Nazario

GettyImages 71121462 e1664822069220

2 (1997, 2002)

Ronaldo was an absolute menace in front of the goal and finished his career as one of the great strikers in the sport's history. He was an accomplished attacker for his native Brazil and won the 2002 World Cup with his country.

He starred for the biggest club's in Europe, including Barcelona and Real Madrid.

T-6. Alfredo di Stefano

GettyImages 85699864
Real Madrid via Getty Images

2 (1957, 1959)

Di Stefano was an original Galactico for Madrid and set the tone for Madridistas of years to follow. He totalled over 200 goals for Real during his time with the club, including 216 in La Liga. The Argentine was a decorated champion with five European Cup trophies to his name as well.

Di Stefano actually played for three national teams during his career, including his native Argentina, Colombia and Spain.

T-6. Kevin Keegan

GettyImages 1314630424 1 e1664822208433
Evening Standard/Hulton Archive/Getty Images

2 (1978, 1979)

Keegan was a Liverpool and Newcastle great before eventually getting into the managerial side of the game. He took home back-to-back Ballon d'Ors in 1978 and 1979 after tremendous success in the Bundesliga with Hamburg.

T-6. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

GettyImages 1233300254 e1664822141366
Roland Krivec/DeFodi Images via Getty Images

2 (1980, 1981)

Rummenigge is currently an executive for Bayern Munich, but his career as a player was quite decorated. He spent years at Bayern as a goal scorer, as well as with Inter Milan and Servette.

The German was part of back-to-back runners up places at the World Cups in 1982 and 1986.

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down