The 5 Players with the Most World Series of Poker Main-Event Wins

The five Texas Hold'em players with the most WSOP main-event bracelets.

(Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

So you're wondering who has the most World Series of Poker main event wins? Let's talk about it!

Texas Hold’em really is a simple game when you boil it down. Everyone is dealt two private hole cards, and five cards are dealt in the middle as community cards. Whoever at the table can make the best five-card hand wins the pot. Simple.

RELATED: The 10 Best Poker Players of All-Time

On its surface, it looks like a game of chance, but it’s not. As the great Mike McDermott says in the legendary poker film Rounders, “Why do you think the same five guys make it to the World Series of Poker every year? What are they, the luckiest guys in Las Vegas? It’s a skill game.”

To win the no-limit Hold’em main event takes not only skill, but also stamina and persistence. Here are the five Texas Hold’em players with the most World Series of Poker main event bracelets. 

Joe Cada: Youngest Winner Ever

5. Phil Hellmuth - 2 Time Champion

1989: $755,000 2012: €1,058,403

4. Doyle Brunson - 2 Time Champion

GettyImages 637805702
(Photo by Tony Korody/Sygma/Sygma via Getty Images)

  • Years Won: 1976, 1977
  • Total WSOP Bracelets: 10
  • Final Tables: 26

There is no poker player who's career stretches as far and wide as the great Doyle Brunson, who was a competitor in the first ever World Series of Poker in 1970, and became the second back-to-back champion in 1977. His wins are most notably remembered because his final hand's both years were 10, 2, which is a relatively weak hand in Texas Hold'em.

Brunson's contributions to the poker world have been invaluable. Authoring a number of books and helping collate the best players in the world for a televised high-stakes game, Brunson has grown the game of poker to unthinkable heights. He has an estimated career earnings of over $6 million at the poker table.

3. Johnny Chan - 2 Time Champion

2. Johnny Moss - 3 Time Champion

1. Stu Ungar - 3 Time Champion

Did you like this article?
Thumbs Up
Thumbs Down